New York NUKES
"Mushroom Cloud Layin' Mofos"
Established 1997

Stadium: Ground Zero
Model: Tiger Stadium
Climate: New York, NY
Colors: Red, Black, Gold

- Home
- Road
- Special

Owner: Jim Lockwood
Manager: Ty Cobb

Minor League Affiliates:
- New Jersey Carjackers (AAA)
- Springfield Isotopes (LOW)

New York Nukes Franchise Timeline

April 7, 1997: First game in franchise history

July 15, 1997: New York hosts first Weaver League All-Star Game. Inferno League defeats Blizzard League 4-1.

1997 Playoffs: Nukes win Lockwood Division and Inferno League Championship before losing to Rio de Janerio in the Weaver Series 4 games to 2.

1998 Playoffs: Nukes win their first Weaver Series! They defeat Havana in seven games.

2000 Playoffs: After missing postseason in 1999, Nukes win Lockwood Division but are swept by Honolulu in the ILCS.

2001 Playoffs: Nukes win fourth Lockwood Division title in five seasons, but for second straight season lose in the ILCS, this time to Amity in six games.

November 3, 2004: Tony Montana named 2004 Inferno League Rookie of the Year.

2005 Playoffs: New York returns to postseason after three year absence, but lose ILCS to Amity in seven games. Nukes ace Randy Johnson retires after series.

November 4, 2005: Rogers Hornsby named 2005 Inferno League MVP.

2007 Playoffs: Nukes win Lockwood Division and Inferno League Championship before losing to Belfast in the Weaver Series 4 games to 1.

October 3 , 2010: Ty Cobb plays his final game with New York. He finishes his career with the team as the franchise leader in stolen bases (787) and runs scored (1,632). Cobb signs with Berlin as a free agent during the offseason plays two more seasons in the Weaver League, retiring as the league leader in career stolen bases with 888.

October 2 , 2011: Gary Sheffield retires. He spent his entire career with New York, and at the time of his retirement he holds the Nukes franchise record for career RBI with 1,641.

November 9, 2012: Willie Mays named 2012 Inferno League MVP.

February 2 , 2013: Randy Johnson inducted into the Weaver League Hall of Fame.

September 29, 2013: Willie Mays captures the Triple Crown, leading the Inferno League in home runs (65), RBI (135), and Batting Average (.371).

2013 Playoffs: Nukes win Lockwood Division and Inferno League Championship before losing to Hong Kong in the Weaver Series 4 games to 1.

November 8, 2013: Willie Mays awarded second straight Inferno League MVP.

September 17 , 2016: Nukes clinch Lockwood Division against the hated Los Angeles Riots in dramatic fashion as the Nukes come from behind in the bottom of tenth inning, winning on a walk off two run home run by Willie Mays.

2016 Playoffs: New York wins it's second Weaver Series! They defeat the Tokyo Tsunamis in six games.

November 2, 2016: Junior Klieman is named Inferno League Rookie of the Year.

November 4, 2016: Frank Weik wins the Inferno League MVP award.

February 4, 2017: Gary Sheffield inducted into the Weaver League Hall of Fame.

2018 Playoffs: The Nukes clinch the Lockwood Division title on the last day of the season, finishing a single game ahead of the arch rival Los Angeles Riots. New York procedes to sweep Bombay in the ILCS. They fall behind the Tokyo Tsunamis 0-3 in the Weaver Series and nearly come back to foce a seventh game, but the bullpen fails them late in Game Six and Tokyo prevails 4 games to 2.

February 2 , 2019: Rogers Hornsby inducted into the Weaver League Hall of Fame.

2020 Playoffs: The Nukes lose the first three games of the ILCS to the Chernobyl Mutants, but they manage to win four straight elimination games to advance to the Weaver Series. They didn't have much left after their improbable ILCS comeback, as they are swept by the Long Beach Lobsters in the Weaver Series.

2021 Playoffs: New York wins their second consecutive Lockwood Division title and their third in four years. They don't make a return trip to the Weaver Series though, as the Amity White Sharks defeat them in six games.

November 4, 2021: Dean Chance wins the Inferno League Cy Young Award.

November 5, 2021: Frank Weik wins his second Inferno League MVP.

2022 Playoffs: The Nukes hold off the Tehran Knights and win the Lockwood Division during the last week of the season. Down 3-2 in the ILCS they force a seventh game against the Amity White Sharks and take a 2-0 lead into the bottom of the ninth, but closer Willie Brown becomes the goat of the series when he blows the save. After forcing extra innings Amity wins in the 12th.

February 4, 2023: Ty Cobb and Pedro Martinez inducted into the Weaver League Hall of Fame.